Saturday, October 9, 2010

Home for the weekend


I really like this picture! It makes me feel all cozy and warm inside, like I'm curled up on the bed looking out the window and seeing a city being sprinkled with snow. Very pleasant :) On second thought..it might actually just be raindrops..loll
I am so glad it's the weekend. Like you have no idea. Monday+Tuesday+Wednesday+Thursday was really quite terrible for me. On Thursday, I just broke down and cried to Phillip, who thankfully was very understanding, even though we did fight a little :/ I ended up calling Linda, and even though she wasn't very sympathetic to me, she somehow made me feel better.
Right now I am home, and not doing any homework. I'm probably going to regret this, but after working hard and still receiving bad grades this week, I'm not ready yet to return to the wonderful world of organic chem. Basically, right now we're learning organic chem, even though I'm in Chem I, which is really, really odd to me. I guess it's the most basic level and it gets 10 times harder when I actually get into O. Chem..but like...I hate it. The last time I took chem was like 3 years ago, when I was a sophomore. And the hardest thing we learned was like...moles..So therefore, I am totally unprepared for this stuff. But everyone else has kinda the same background, and they're doing just fine in Chem I. Which makes me feel dumb, and makes me question my chosen major. If I can't survive Chem I, how can I survive Chem II? Maybe it's too early to tell, but we've had 2 tests, and I didn't do so great on either. I'm doing fine on the homework and quizzes though, so maybe I failed the recent test because I just didn't have enough time to adequately study for it. And now I'm going to stop talking about it cause it's making me feel down again :(
Anyway, have ya'll been keeping up with the news lately? So many teen suicides!! And most of it is attributed to bullying...which is really tragic...I think I've had my fair share of bullying in middle school, but once I got to high school no one really bothered me. In middle school, I was sorta teased for being a nerd, being the "smart girl" who got the best grades in class...but it wasn't anything that bothered me.
I guess you guys have read about the guy at Rutgers who jumped off a bridge after his roommate recorded him kissing a guy? The roommate and another college student have been expelled, and might be sentenced to 5 years in prison...There's been a lot of controversy over this, since some people argue that the college students are only 18 years old, and it was just a prank. I was surprised to find out the roommate was an Indian guy and the other college student was an Asian girl, since I guess most hate crimes are performed by privileged white guys. Well, I don't know if that is actually true, but I have to admit this news article caught my eye when I realized the guilty party was Asian. But anyway, the question is, are these college students guilty of causing this suicide?
My answer is...yes...to an extent...but I don't think they should be charged with murder and sent to jail. I mean, they're already being expelled. They're going to have a hard time in life getting into another college and getting a job..I mean..this made national news...They're 18, and their lives have been pretty much ruined. Also, they're going to have to live with this guilt forever..Basically, I think they're already getting enough punishment.
Why has there been a spike in the number of teen suicides due to bullying? I really want to find an answer to this. Why has bullying increased? Some point to reality TV, but I've written so many papers about how TV isn't really the one responsible...
Ahh I've written so much. I'll be quiet now and enjoy the evening before I go back to the madness of the city tomorrow.

No comments:

Post a Comment

About us

Pages - Menu

Popular Posts